Hindenburg Bunker
Profile
In 1893, the Munster-South barracks camp was first occupied by the 91st Oldenburg Infantry Regiment, commanded by Colonel von Hindenburg (later President of Germany). This event marks the beginning of Munster’s military history and is likely the origin of the site’s name.
Development of the Area
In 1922, the Wietzendorfer Straße was constructed using concrete blocks from the demolished Breloh gas facility. Today, the road is open to the public, except during military training exercises. It passes directly by a target zone that has been in use since that time.
Hindenburg Bunker
In 1928, construction began on the first concrete bunker for target area observation. By 1934, additional bunkers were built, including the Hindenburg Bunker. Nearby, within the target area, was a small underground shelter on a hill named “Adolfshöhe”. The name has no connection to Adolf Hitler. Interestingly, this shelter was camouflaged with a fake megalithic tomb. Today, no visible traces of this structure remain.
Map
Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.
Sorry, unable to load the Maps API.


